• 01 May, 2024
  • Travel tips
  • Travomint

What are 12 federal holidays in the USA?

Federal holidays are the days that the US government celebrates every year. Nonessential government companies usually don't work these days, and employees there also get a day off. Various sectors, such as banks, post offices, and schools, are closed during federal holidays. In the U.S., there are 12 federal holidays when you can get a day off and do other things. Moreover, if you are unsure about the 12 federal holidays in the U.S., the article below provides the complete list.

Importance of federal holidays 

Federal holidays often boost economic growth in the US by increasing travel and tourism. As more travelers visit, the demand for accommodation, dining, transportation, and entertainment increases, especially in popular tourist destinations. This creates employment and adds to tax revenue. 

It lets people show respect and remember the country's sacrifices and victories. These holidays are the best way to show appreciation and respect to the soldiers and martyrs who sacrifice themselves and their families to protect the nation.

What are the 12 federal holidays? 

If you wonder about which are 12 federal holidays, here is the complete list given below for your reference; 

New Year's Day (January 1) 

The new year is celebrated on January 1, which is the first day of the calendar year. In the beginning, during the mid-1800s, states like New York and Connecticut considered the new year a holiday. Later, in June 1870, the government made a law allowing federal employees in Washington to have a day off on New Year's Day. Then, in 1885, this holiday covered all the federal employees, 

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day ( November 2) 

President Ronald Reagan signed a law called 'King Holiday' on November 2, 1983, honoring Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., the leader of the civil rights movement. After much discussion and debate for 15 years, this law was passed, which states that the third Monday of January is a federal holiday to honor Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. 

Inauguration Day (January 20th or 21st) 

Inauguration Day is a day when the transition of presidential power occurs every four years on January 20th, as per the constitution. In 1957, January 11, Inauguration Day, was registered as a permanent federal holiday in the Washington, D.C., area. President Dwight Eisenhower signed the law, according to which Inauguration Day officially became a Holiday. 

President's Day (Third Monday in February)

Presidents Day is a federal holiday established in 1879, celebrated on 22nd February, to commemorate the birthday of the first president, George Washington. 

Memorial Day (May 27 or the last Monday in May) 

Memorial Day, also known as Decoration Day, was established because many federal employees influenced the decision. These federal employees were a group of Union Civil War veterans, the members of the Grand Army of the Republic, who were willing to participate in the festivities to honor those who died in the war. 

Juneteenth (June 19) 

Juneteenth is also known as Juneteenth National Independence Day. Juneteenth is a federal holiday that reminds people of the end of slavery in the U.S. It is celebrated on June 19 every year, also known as Freedom Day, Emancipation Day, Black Independence Day, Jubilee Day, and, of course Juneteenth Independence Day.

Independence Day (July 4th) 

Independence Day began being celebrated in the US on July 4, 1946, to officially acknowledge the independence of the Republic of the Philippines. The process started in 1916 with the Jones Law, which promised to recognize the independent Philippines. 

Labor Day (September 2nd or the first Monday in September) 

In 1894, Labor Day became a federal holiday to honor the country's hard labor work. In the same way, as other holidays are focused on individuals or traditional celebrations, Labor Day is dedicated to realizing Labor's importance. 

Columbus Day (October 14 or the second Monday in October) 

It is one of the federal holidays to Honor Christopher Columbus's arrival in the New World on 12 October 1492. It is also known as Indigenous Peoples Day and is used to celebrate Italian American cultural heritage.  

Veterans Day (November 11)

Veterans Day is celebrated for the end of World War 1 on November 11. In 1938 the government established Armistice Day, later called Veteran Day, as a federal holiday. 

Thanksgiving Day (November 28) 

The first federal congress passed a resolution in September 1789 to request that President George Washington propose a national Thanksgiving day. After a few days, the president proclaimed Thursday, November 26, 1789, as a public Thanksgiving day. In 1863, after President Abraham Lincoln's proclamation, Thanksgiving began to be celebrated every year on the last Thursday of November. 

Christmas Day (December 25)

In the US, Christmas Day is celebrated as the birth of Jesus Christ, who the Christian community believes to be the Son of God. The name 'Christmas' symbolizes the 'Mass of Christ.' The Christians remember a Mass service, also called Eucharist or Communion, in which Jesus died for them and came back to life.